Contribution #4: Generations of Workers in the U.S. Workforce

I am a senior and soon going to be entering the workforce. There are many different types of workers in the workforce currently. We have a lot of ‘Generation X’ workers who were born between 1965-1980. These workers are also known as ‘baby busters’ and there are approximately 50 million Americans, one-third of the workforce. These individuals demand interesting work assignments and thrive on open-ended projects that require sophisticated problem solving

There are also Generation Y or ‘Millenials’ in the workforce and soon to be entering the full time workforce. These individuals were born between 1981-1995. These workers grew up with sophisticated technologies and often e-mail and text. Multitasking is easy for this generation as well. Generation Y workers will have a huge impact on future products, marketing, and management practices.

I bring this up because I am going to be graduating in May and entering the workforce with both of these generations. It worries me working with this mix of people because others may intimidate some or not agree on big decisions. Right now I am a HR intern to a Generation X boss and I feel as if she is intimidated by my age and knowledge straight out of school. I feel I am not given the opportunities I should be given because she is in fear I will challenge her position and ‘give her a run for her money.’ I hope after I graduate and start apply for jobs, that most places will not look at me as intimidating but rather as an opportunity to better the company with my new knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Leave a comment